Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Gunky scalp, scabs and juice.....help me

Panterra Caraway
@panterra-caraway
13 years ago
667 posts

I would just like to say here, thatALL hairdressers are not bad...just unfamiliar with dreads. Dreads are not taught in Beauty College at all. I have been a licensed stylist for 31 years and it really offends me that everyone lumps us all together and just assumes we are all harmful, stupid cheaters. That is not true. Like any profession,there are good and bad. Just because someone chooses to dread and no longer cuts their hair, it doesn't invalidate all our knowledge and expertise. I personally have been on this site for 18 mos. giving good advice and trying to help people who ask questions about hair structure, scalp health, and many coloring/bleaching questions. So, it would be nice if people realized that all stylists are not the same...and like any other individual, we are entitled to respect. Thanks.

Mark Fry said:

Hey Preston.

Just so you know, the Baking Soda wash is tops. It's best to put all the BS wash in a jug and pour it over your head allowing it to drip dry. Leave it for 15-30 depending on how intense of a clean you want. I normally head outside and do some yard work so I don't drip throughout the house. Then rinse it very well.... make sure you do this step. After that. ACV rinse..... leave it in for 5 mins before you wash it out. Only rinsing it tough.... you just want to get all the ACV and left over BS out.

I think you just need to give it a really good clean (with out scrubbing the dreads, only the scalp).