Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Who else had/has to deal with people telling them they should get their dreads done "properly"?

motor
@motor
12 years ago
9 posts
I get it occasionally, only from people who don't know that by not combing your hair is the proper method! Any one else get this sort of input from friends/randoms?
updated by @motor: 02/14/15 04:24:04PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts

you mean the you should go to a salon thing?

rare

very rare

and only by total newbs that just had em done at a salon and look ridiculous

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
Guillaume
@guillaume
12 years ago
16 posts

A guy tells me from time to time "Hey man, haven't you started growing dreads? Go get 'em done at a salon, wax and stuff."

I just tell him that wax is really bad and I don't have 300$ to spend on something that happens naturally and for free.

Kris2
@kris2
12 years ago
43 posts

As soon as i did mine, my brother and sister magically became experts on the subject. Year and a bit later they still say it once in a while.

Baba Fats
@baba-fats
12 years ago
2,702 posts

I'm getting married in a few months. When we first got engaged, my mom kept telling me that I should cut my 4 year old locks off and grow my hair back and then she'd pay for me to have them done "properly" at a salon. I keep telling her that they ruin locks, but she still at least wants me to clean them up for the wedding.

My aunt is still under the impression that locks will make me go bald faster, but I try telling her that if I don't mess with them, they are the healthiest hairstyle to have. The only thing that will make me go bald is my genes. And yes, I will go bald. I know it. But as long as I have hair, I'll have locks.

Tara C
@tara-c
12 years ago
644 posts