Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Scalp problems

joey4
@joey4
12 years ago
4 posts

I've been letting my hair dread naturally for about 10 months and they're starting to get pretty solid now. My problem is dandruff and moist scalp/oily hair. I have tried many different residue free shampoos and have tried vinegar, but nothing is working right, it's like my hair keeps going through different phases. For the last 2 months I've been using the Tea Tree and Rosemary Dreadlocks Shampoo Bar (which says helps dandruff); it works amazingly at dreading up my hair but most of the time doesn't help my scalp at all. I say that because the first month didn't help my scalp, but the last 2 weeks my head was itch free with no dandruff at all. But now I just washed my scalp yesterday and after my hair dried, my scalp is extremely itchy with dandruff and moist, and my roots are moist.

updated by @joey4: 01/13/15 09:36:01PM
Baba Fats
@baba-fats
12 years ago
2,702 posts

Oily hair means it's too acidic. Using ACV will only make it more acidic. Therefore more oily.

Get some Baking soda and wash with that. 1/2 cup of BS to every 5 cups of water. Normally you would have to use ACV to reset your scalps pH to a healthy level. But because it's already too acidic, wash a few times with just the BS until it stops being oily. Then, very gradually reintroduce the ACV.

In the BS wash, add some Teatree and Rosemary essential oils. They should help take care of the dandruff

liame wallace
@liame-wallace
12 years ago
1 posts