Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Natural no comb method.

Colyn Robinson
@colyn-robinson
12 years ago
45 posts

I started with an attempt at twist and rip method about a month and a half ago and since have decided to start over (especially since i used wax.) I have since let my hair grow another 3 or 4 inches and have now decided to just not comb it and let my hair do its own thing. However i am still fairly new to the world of dreads and am not quite sure what to expect. Any advice or words of wisdom would be very much appreciated. Thank you.

updated by @colyn-robinson: 02/14/15 09:43:25AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts

in a lil while it will start to section get lil messy in a beautiful organic way then dreads will form probly start on the side u sleep on most 1st

they will look wild and feral a bit get loopy they can change day to day abnnd always sur[rise you

eventualy they grow up and stop changing so much so quickly they suck in most of the loops but they still look more organic abd alive

and even afterdecades theyre always changing and u find new things u love all the time

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
Colyn Robinson
@colyn-robinson
12 years ago
45 posts

Should i wash my hair less or just keep living my normal life and wait for them to do their own thing?

Baba Fats
@baba-fats
12 years ago
2,702 posts

Welcome and congrats. You'll love it.

So, you will be expecting in the first few weeks to see them start to really section themselves off. They won't be forming mature locks yet, but they will start to show you where the sections will be forming.

They will start to tangle a bit, and then will probably untangle again. Then they;ll tangle again and then untangle. This happens. It's forward progress. Everytime they come undone, they are really just finding their own way, and positioning themselves where they feel most natural and comfortable on your head.