Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Loctician dreads vs natural dreads: my journey and my (strong) opinions

Crystal O.
@crystal-o
13 years ago
137 posts

I'm sorry, but I feel the desire to rant! I am no expert on the subject, but I have read some horror stories that make me sad more than anything! Why are people making money ruining other people's hair? Why are people searching for dreadlock tips and getting terrible advice? I know damn well that if my hair I've been growing for years were ruined at the benefit of someone else's wallet, I'd feel extremely hurt and defeated. This just isn't right! People are telling people they need to damage their hair to achieve beautiful locks, salons mostly, from what I've read.

My hair was straight and thick and healthy before beginning my dread journey, by twist and rip. Mind you, I began before discovering this site, had I discovered this site first, I'm sure I would have gone the natural route. Since finding this site and taking all the good advice I have found, my hair is dreadingbeautifully and crazily and wonderfully!Ther is much more to dreading than just an having easier to maintain hairstyle. There is more to people than what is in their wallet for these salons and bad dread sites care about.

How do we make it so that this site comes up first when people are searching for dread help? How do we help those who have already suffered because of bad advice? How can we make this a positive experience for those looking for one? I want to be sure before I continue to spread my methods and advice that it is, in fact good advice. I'd like to become more if an expert on the subject of dreading in a healthy way because it pains me to see and hear that people have such terrible experiences. Everyone dreads for different reasons, but none of them are wrong or deserve any less than the best possible chance at achieving beautiful and healthy locks.