Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Should be starting soon, still debating the best method for my hair.

Chris Marshall
@chris-marshall
14 years ago
10 posts
So I've been doing research for the past 6 months and have had the idea of having dreadlocks for at least 6 years. I've started to wash my hair with Dr. Bronner's Lavender Bar Soap just to get my hair used to it and my hair is significantly long. I'd put a picture up, but my camera is packed away. It's coarse, wavy, and goes down well past my shoulders by at least 4 or 5 inches. My question is about the method I should use. I know the best method would be natural, but I don't have a job that would allow me to do so. Personal Jesus (the user here) has volunteered to backcomb my hair for me and has been of MUCH help as well as a great source of information for my persistent inquisitive nature. However, I wonder if backcombing is the right way to go. I know it can cause damage to my hair (I trust him to be careful) but it seems as though if I want to get the thickness I want for my dreads, then twist and rip might not be the best method either. So I feel like I'm kind of left with no option. Has anyone here successfully made thick TNR dreads? (Thick meaning around 5/8ths inch in diameter, not Phat which I'd say is around 3/4 to an Inch) Thanks much for your help in advance!-Chris
updated by @chris-marshall: 02/14/15 03:27:13AM
Valerie
@valerie
14 years ago
39 posts
my hair seems to be working pretty well with twist and rip. mine are already thickening up a decent amount just after a month i have a few that are at about a half inch. im sure theyll get thicker, probably too thick for my liking. oh well ill still love them :)
Christian Peter DeMaria
@christian-peter-demaria
14 years ago
17 posts