Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

"neglect" dreadlocks process. What am I to expect?

Adam Forest
@adam-forest
14 years ago
5 posts
Hello Everyone, I have been growing "neglect" (silly term) dreadlocks for nearly three months now. I wash with residue-free shampoo; baking soda and ACV three times a week. My hair is very thick and wavy - shoulder length. I find it odd that my hair is not even beginning to knot up after three months. I never touch my hair - apart from washing it to keep it clean. I let it air dry and leave it alone. I thought it would separate a little and resemble the start of dreadlocks by now, especially because it is thick, wavy and very curly underneath. but it just looks the same as when I used to brush it. I even received a compliment today about how nice it looked. Ha ha. It just looks like normal brushed hair. I have all the information at hand and what more advice can I follow but that of leaving my hair alone and keeping it clean? Has anyone had the same experience?I had dreadlocks for seven years. They were close to my waist when I cut them. I put them in myself in 1998 using beeswax and backcombing. Needless to say everything is true: lint, dirt, fluff, grease, and eventually mold causing the dreading experience to be truly "dreadful". But in 1998 I had no internet and the only information I could get about dreadlocks was via word of mouth and everyone said the only way was to use beeswax, which I got for free from a local beekeeper. It wasn't until I met some natural dreadlocked folk who simply let them be - very lovely dreadlocks, too - that I realized wax was rather disgusting to rub through one's hair. I put up with it though because the dreads were very mature and wonderful on the outside but on the inside - filthy. After I cut them I had a look inside and the wax was still in there. After seven years!Anyway, I haven't had dreadlocks for six years so I thought I would let my hair be and see what happ