Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Totally, dead straight hair. What do?

Chris Rimmer
@chris-rimmer
14 years ago
4 posts
First off, hi everyone! Your member count just increased by 1.I'm pretty new to the whole dreadlocks game. I had some put in by a few mates a couple months ago on a whim but I combed them out today since the ends had totally undreaded and the new growth hadn't dreaded yet, and in short dreads that means only the middle 1/3 of the hair was a dread, which kinda defeats the point in my opinion. Not to mention my hair was full of wax and dread butter. Nothankyou. Not after reading the comments on here a anyway!Anyways, I'd love to dread naturally but my hair is pretty much completely straight. It bends a little at the ends - though I can't quite figure out why - but it never forms knots on its own and it lies completely flat.I daresay natural dreads are out of the question, so I'm trying to decide between getting new ones twisted and ripped in, or backcombed. In either case, a cursory glance around The Internets tells me it can help if I braid my hair for a week or two before actually dreading. I've got no idea how that works but hey, if anyone can vouch for that, I'll happily accept the advice. I quite like the idea of having bigass braids dangling from my head for a bit, but I'd prefer to get my dreads on the go sooner rather than later =DI've also attached a pic of how long my hair is as of an hour ago. I'm not sure how different methods affect the length of the resulting dreads - if they do at all - but I figured it'd be handy to have some reference.Thanks in advance guys =D[Edit] Well that's mildly irritating - every image program on my PC had the picture the right way up, then I upload it and it's falls over... Ah well. Fixing it now.
updated by @chris-rimmer: 02/14/15 11:37:24AM
Iain
@iain
14 years ago
844 posts