Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Dr. Bronner's Magic Soap: Oily residue?

Faelwynn
@faelwynn
15 years ago
362 posts
living in FL will cause the water to be considerably softer than CA water regardless of where it is exactly that you live (trust me, Northern Alabama native... I miss my soft/neutral water). I still say that it's the water + concentration of the bronner's that leaves the residue. Iain said:
I've been using the same Bronners for a few months now *peppermint but i added a few drops of tea tree to mine* and haven't had anything like what you are describing anywhere,

I live on city here in Fl oh but mine wasn't bar, it was liquid.

updated by @faelwynn: 07/23/15 03:23:28AM
Faelwynn
@faelwynn
15 years ago
362 posts
Alright, so after a shower and letting my dreads dry a good bit, I have no nasty stuff on my dreads or on my loose little stray hairs. Which leads me to believe that it's the concentration of the soap + the extremely hard water. My suggestion is to go with the baking soda wash until you get a bar of bronner's if you still want to use the soap at all. Personally, I think all of the bronner's products are awesome even if you're just using them to wash your body and mop the floors (as it does a kick ass job of cleaning floors... but again you have to make sure the concentration is right, otherwise you end up with waxy, grimy feeling floors). With that said, for residents of California that are having problems with the liquid, I'd use the bar soap instead.
Ryan Emmel
@ryan-emmel
15 years ago
85 posts
Just an update: I washed the second time and had no problem. i suspect my first use either helped loosen old residue, and I failed to rinse thoroughly, or I just failed to rinse thoroughly.I'll continue to update on my soap adventures.
Faelwynn
@faelwynn
15 years ago
362 posts