Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Tips for an absolute beginner?

Trey Griffith
@trey-griffith
11 years ago
5 posts

What's goin on people? I just got some twists put in my head last week. If everything works out they'll dread up pretty nice...I think. I had it done by an African hair stylist who specializes in braids and dreads. She asked me to come back and get it touched up next week. I think this is probably a good idea to let a professional handle it for the first 8-12 weeks. Give them some time to grow and start locking; less chance of me messing them up. Anyway, I just got an Ultra Dread kit in the mail from DHHQ, haven't really touched it. My scalp has been pretty itchy the past few days. I haven't washed or gotten my hair wet since it was done. If you look closely at the picture above you'll see that the baby hair going down my neck is kinda knotted. These looked more like twists a few days ago but they're coming undone. Any ideas on how to keep my scalp clean and comfortable? How should I use these products in the first month with my hair at thelengthit is? If I was to wash it or apply products like the dread was to the shorter ones will rest of the hair become undone in the back? Any advice is appreciated. More pics of my starters attached. And allow me to introduce myself.

updated by @trey-griffith: 02/14/15 05:50:39AM
Castaway J
@castaway-j
11 years ago
585 posts

There is no need at all to ever go to a loctician. If you wanted to get them started then fine, but there is absolutely NO reason to go back. Dreadlocks take time and patience, and your own brand of personal love. Wash them as often as your scalp tells you too. If you feel a bad its sesh coming on then wash. use some essential oils to relieve it like rosemary, or lavander. Aloe can also be applied directy to an itchy spot on your scalp to relieve the itch.

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
11 years ago
29,640 posts