Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Dreads falls apart when shower.. but I have to shower!

Conny Nordlund
@conny-nordlund
12 years ago
19 posts

Ok guys, here's the dealio.

I work at Ikea and it's super hot and hard work at the dishes. Which is the place I work basically all the time. It ends up with me having to shower when I get home. But when I do shower, my dreads fall to mush and needs to be re-backcombed.

They're only 4 days old (young..) and I've been scared shitless to use wax because of all the talk of it getting stuck in your hair and unable to wash off.

So what do I do? Go around smelling bad, shower and go through a month of no free time and just backcombing.. or do I use wax.. or whatelse?

Ideas?

updated by @conny-nordlund: 02/14/15 11:21:48AM
Amanda12
@amanda12
12 years ago
46 posts

I'm a noob too but I had an idea! Use a shower cap and don't wash your hair everyday. If your hair doesn't smell too fresh try your favorite oil (lavender, peppermint, lemon...) and some water in a spray bottle to feel a little fresher between washing. I've heard that the knots loosen and tighten a lot but if they are all falling out maybe you could try rubber bands but I hear that's not so great for your hair. You might also want to try beads and wraps to just kinda keep things together. Idk, I hope I helped.

☮MamaKittyLove
@mamakittylove
12 years ago
198 posts

Definitely do not use wax!! I back combed and used wax because I was worried about them falling apart too but yeah..long story short it took me a few days to get all of that gross wax out. As Amanda said, just use a shower cap! I've never heard of using scented oil but that seems like a nifty idea too!

Alexander Šuma
@alexander-uma
12 years ago
17 posts