Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

letting go- how my loopy dreads point out neurosis

Angel Frye
@angel-frye
13 years ago
409 posts

Wow. I just got educated. Thank you so much.

Looking around at suppliers NOW I understand why the size of the yarn is usually so small; because of the baby fine hairs. Makes sense.

A 60/40 mix would probably work best for a pillowcase that'll have a moving face and hair on it pressing down. Hmm.. I'll have to search some more, I suppose. I've only found 100% alpaca suppliers so far.

What is mixed with the alpaca to make it thicker? Wool or cotton?

updated by @angel-frye: 07/25/15 09:12:41AM
RSavage26
@rsavage26
12 years ago
50 posts

My hair is pretty "nappy", so I don't get loops. I've been letting my hair dread for about 7 months, but I think I hurt my progress by constantly separating my hair. So I've decided to just stop doing it except maybe every other time I shampoo. I get these tiny hair balls on the ends of my developing locs. Sometimes I find it cute and other times I worry that I'm doing it wrong. It takes a lot of guts and confidence to go organic I've realized. The only people who have supported me are my cousin and my younger brother and sister. Haven't gotten any bullshit comments from strangers though, so that's nice.

Aya Heartright
@aya-heartright
12 years ago
91 posts

lol. I get comments from people who have/previously had dreads telling me what to do. There is a girl at work that had freeform dreads that she calls "gross as trainhopper dreads".... I never saw them but she comes up to me and plays with my dreads and tells me that I should do all this maintenance that she never did to make them look better. Meh. I'm ok with my loopies right now, at least enought hat I don't want to undo and re-backcomb them every few months that seems HORRIBLE.

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts

why want or expect "perfect" or "uniform" dreads 'prefferably soon"?