Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Dreadlock extensions?

Rain Irene Ruiz
@rain-irene-ruiz
11 years ago
1 posts

hey !! so i've had my new set of dreads for almost 2 months now and they are locking up pretty tighter than i expected. i'm hoping that by the 3rd month they'll be even tighter. but in the meantime, i was wondering if it's ok to get dreadlock extensions? my dreads are about shoulder length and i think they would be even better with extensions. i have never used extensions before, or at least dread extensions. so do you think it's a good idea to get them now ? or should i wait till my hair fully matures? thanks for the help :-)

updated by @rain-irene-ruiz: 02/14/15 02:25:57AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
11 years ago
29,640 posts

wouldnt at all for these reasons

1 they will always feel like ..not part of you disconnected

2 most who get em hate em and cut em off cause they just feel like dead weiggt

3 recently theres been many reports out of some countries of ppl being mugged..knocked unconsouse nearluy killed (fractured skull and all) just to have thier dreads shaved off and sold as black market extentions

now if your set on extentio s wait till they are well established typicaly 8 months so u have good dreads to anchor ion to

by the time u are able to attach them your real dreads have finished shrinking and will be growing soon so..whats the point

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
the Barrellady
@the-barrellady
11 years ago
1,302 posts

Well hi there. To start off, you can take a product called Biotin, 6000mcg strength to promote hair growth, results in 3 months. I can be found in the vitamin section of your local drug store for under $10.

What are you washing your hair with? You profile says you started dreadlocks in June 2012, but have not done any maintenance since May 18, 2013, what kind of maintenance have you been doing on your backcombed dreadlocks? Any products used?