Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Sunrise meditation (ish) for mental wellbeing

Green Head
@green-head
11 years ago
31 posts

Hiya, thanks for taking the time to view this!

I'm interested to see whether any of you are interested in meditation or sunrises.

I'm pretty stressed, have been for as long as I can remember. I love nature and stuff and I happen to live near a beautiful woodland and grassy areas and I have an interest in the sun rising, I fancy sitting and watching it rise surrounded by nature, I hope this can reduce some of my stress.

Problem is if I spend too much time in silence (anything over a minute) my mind starts to race and stress and worry build up, my mind wont rest.

I was wondering if anybody had any techniques for meditation that could help me?
Perhaps giving me a focus, a mental image would help but I'm just not creative enough to think of one, I'm a noob to exploration of my own mind xD

Any help would be really appreciated! Love on ya! Sian xx

updated by @green-head: 01/13/15 09:52:06PM
Tim5
@tim5
11 years ago
359 posts

One technique is to observe your thoughts. Eventually they become less and less.

A very simple meditation I have done alot is;

sit comfortably, anywhere, silently begin to observe your thoughts (your mind), just watch them, breath gently, observe your breath, then slowly say, with your internal voice:

I, the soul, am peaceful.

Then sit in that experience for a second, or how ever long you can, the thoughts will come again, that is fine, just observe and repeat again for as long as you want to.

What you are saying is, I, the soul (you are identifying yourself as spirit, the soul, not the body, not the mind, I am the soul, I do not have a soul, I am the soul, I, the soul) am peaceful, that is our true nature.

I, the soul, am peaceful, I am a being of light, I am not my body, I am not my mind, I, the soul, am peaceful. ( you can say this sentence as a meditation also)