Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Just got hair dreaded today. Need help please.

Kyren Smoot
@kyren-smoot
11 years ago
3 posts

Okay, so I got mine done about thirty minutes ago.

While dreading my hair my hairdresser was initially using Lock & Twist gel, which I was okay with. But without telling me and while already halfway done, she switched to using Beeswax.

Now, from what I've seen online, wax for dreads is a no-go. So my question is, will my dreads be alright, health wise? And is there anyway I can get the wax out of my hair withoutcompletelydestroyingthe dreads and having to start over.

Additional info:

I am mixed (Black & White)

My hair is pretty long prior to the dreading (4-5 inches)

Not sure exactly what method she used. I think she sectioned, twisted, and clipped each dread, but I am a newbie and possibly wrong about that.

Any info whatsoever will help. Just wanna make sure my dreads will be clean, healthy, and look good.

updated by @kyren-smoot: 01/22/20 09:33:16AM
Tara C
@tara-c
11 years ago
644 posts

There's a product you can buy called Wax-B-Gone that's had positive results in removing wax. Besides that, it can take...a pretty long time...to get it all out, but thankfully it was just the once. Twisting is an OK method to start off with, I believe, but don't get them re-twisted, just let them do their thing now. Get the wax out and they should be OK :) I had mine backcombed and used wax the first time, but I got the wax out and they've dreaded very well, so not the end of the world.

Kyren Smoot
@kyren-smoot
11 years ago
3 posts

Thanks for the info.

Also, she told me that I shouldn't wash my hair for the first month after the initial dreading, and for somereason, I take her advice as less than reliable.

So, should I go along with not washing for the first month, and then trying the Wax-B-Gone or...?

Sorry, I have very little knowledge of dreads or the processes.

Tara C
@tara-c
11 years ago
644 posts