Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

puffy dreads after wash

Kyree Whitfield
@kyree-whitfield
11 years ago
10 posts

Hey everyone I'm new to this. I had my dreads in for about 11 days and I decided to wash them. I have African hair and I started them with the twist method with about a inch or two inches of hair. After the wash they became puff balls. Is that normal? I tried to re-twist them but it doesn't stay to I just left them alone. kinda lost on what to do and I hope I didn't destroy the whole process.

updated by @kyree-whitfield: 01/22/20 09:33:16AM
TieDyedSoul
@tiedyedsoul
11 years ago
70 posts

My dreads aren't as short as yours but every time I get out of the shower my dreads become super poofy and sometimes they stay like that for a day or two and other times the next day they shrink back down.

Kyree Whitfield
@kyree-whitfield
11 years ago
10 posts

ok so its normal I guess. Do you think its a good idea to loosely apply a rubber band at the root to keep the sections seperated? or just let it be?

Kyree Whitfield
@kyree-whitfield
11 years ago
10 posts

so as my dreads get longer it wont swell like that anymore?

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
11 years ago
29,640 posts

`haha this isnt a help save my dreads situation in fact you saved them by accident you want to be washingthem despite the lies the salons told u u do not want to retwist them..evrr retwisting makes u go bald so leave em alone puff balls will be come dreads by just washing them

your doing it right just let it happen but wash with a dread shampoo not normal shampoos and never retwist ever

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
11 years ago
29,640 posts

noo you necver re twist and rip after u wash your only reseting progress to day 1 ewvery time u do if they loosen or fall apartr...let them.they will dread right back up if u leave em alone!
Snags said: