Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

do you get new dreads?

Jean Krost
@jean-krost
11 years ago
4 posts

im really new to this.. i just back combed my hair yesterday.. what im wondering is as my dreads mature will new ones start or will the sections i have now be all i get?

updated by @jean-krost: 02/14/15 08:33:58AM
Kelly3
@kelly3
11 years ago
333 posts

First off, did you use wax? If you used wax then you should remove it immediately. If not, then some of the dreads should completely fall out and they will form new dreasd. This is normal. Another Q, what size sections did you use? Were they all perfectly square, etc?

Jean Krost
@jean-krost
11 years ago
4 posts

no i didnt use wax... my friend keeps telling me to but i spent a few days reading about it and thats a no go lol.. so far ive soaked them with salt water and washed them with baking soda.. i have loose rubber bands in around the base of each dread (though some have fallen out) as far as the section sizes.. id say they are no bigger than a half dollar.. some are smaller than the others though ... i had two really big ones in the front that i ended up tearing in half

Adam Kelly said:

First off, did you use wax? If you used wax then you should remove it immediately. If not, then some of the dreads should completely fall out and they will form new dreasd. This is normal. Another Q, what size sections did you use? Were they all perfectly square, etc?

Kelly3
@kelly3
11 years ago
333 posts