dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

ryans twist and rip dreading guide and video

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
15 years ago
29,640 posts

Find more videos like this on dreadlock forums
I'd like to provide some more detailed instruction here--but note that I'm new to this. All I know is that I'm creating knots that don't need wax and haven't yet come undone in the shower.I begin the process by sectioning my hair. This is a matter of individual preference. I actually started by sectioning it myself, but had my girlfriend start doing a few rows at a time. You might spot some rubber bands. Those are just to keep the sections neat until I can T&R them together.The process is fairly simple. Gather the section in your fingers and twirl it. I spin clockwise relative to my face. I don't know if this is relevant. Don't twist it too tight, or when you go to rip it, it will bunch up way too densely to reach the root end of your hair, and you'll end up with a long length of straight hair between the knots and your roots. Instead, twirl lightly. Then slide your fingers slowly toward the tip of the bunch, until you feel the end of some hair. Next, split that bunch into two, and pull it apart. The crotch of the separated bunch should slide down to the scalp. Don't pull too hard. You may not be able to see, but you just made a thin layer of tangles. Now, without retwisting, grab a little bit of hair from one half of the bundle and pull it into the other half. You only need to retwist every three or four rips, or when the hair gets too bulbous. When that time comes, hold the knotted section in your fingers and roll it so it's even. Use this action to push any loose loops up into the bundle of unknotted hair. Then retwist and repeat. Once you get a good layer of knots between your scalp and the ripping, you can pull the hair apart pretty hard. Just don't go pulling your hair out. note from soaringeagle, the video and text of the 1st post came from here and were made by ryan emme