Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

FUZZY!

Alexander McAllister
@alexander-mcallister
12 years ago
17 posts

I am new to dreads, and have been told different things by many different people, I come here in search of hopefully real advice. I dreaded my hair 5 days ago using the twist and rip method, i continued my normal every other day showerscheduled that i had before dreading, with the exception that i wasnt washing my hair.... until today, i looked up a basic baking soda rinserecipe, i poured it on my head and let it sit for about 15 min, than jumped in the shower and rinsed it out for a while. when the shower was done i towel dried off the loose water, and let it air dry for the remainder of the drying process....Well, now they are some fuzzy looking baby dreads. Some of them even seem a bit more loose, none fully came out thankfully. I was just wondering, everybody has a fuzzy phase in the beginning right?

Also... with some of my dreads, the roots are not knotted at all, some up to two inches from my scalp, will that fix itself, or am i doomed to loose roots for all of mydreadlockedlife to come?

updated by @alexander-mcallister: 01/13/15 09:37:15PM
Baba Fats
@baba-fats
12 years ago
2,702 posts

Just like you said... You are new to locks. They are babies. Mature locks take, on average, a year to form. Nothing you do will make them form over night. Baby locks need to have between 1-3 inches of straight hair at the roots. This straight hair will allow new growth to snag and get tangled into the lock. As they mature the roots will tighten to between 1/4 - 1 inch.

The frizzies need to be there as well. Dreadlocks are mad of tangled knotted hair. If your hair was straight, it wouldn't knot. Those fuzzies get tangled with other fuzzies and create knots. Those knots get tangled with other fuzzies and create new knots. This process goes on and on until a lock forms.

Washing 2-3 times a week helps knots form.