dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Introduction

DiMiTri
@dimitri
12 years ago
8 posts

Hello all!

New to the site, new to dreads as well. I'm from the southside of the united states. Been dreading my hair for the past 4 months and never did before this. I'm 25. Just wanted to say hello to everyone and add that I think this is an amazing site with some awesome information. And while I'm here doing this I have a question as well:

LIke I said I've been dreading for the past 4 months. I had a friend back-comb and knot my hair at it's roots. We DIDN'T use any wax, I think he used a little lock pepper though. At any rate, my friend has decided to stop helping me in this process so I'm wondering if I should cut everything out and start from scratch or could I just pick up here with the neglect method and let my hair do what it does?

Thanks in advance for anyone who puts their 2 cents in here =D

updated by @dimitri: 02/14/15 04:46:32AM
Baba Fats
@baba-fats
12 years ago
2,702 posts

I'm still a bit confused about the knotting. Were they literally tied into a knot, like you'd tie a rope in a knot? Or were the roots tightened with a hook or other tool? Or were the roots flipped?

If they were tied in a knot, I'd say start over. Knots will stop locking on a large scalp. If your hair is shorter, you may see a little matting below the knot, but not much. You'll end up having pretty straight hair below the knot. It will mat above the knot, but not well, and nothealthily.

If they were root flipped, leave them. If it was done 4 months ago, and not since, you probably wont be able to see the area where it was done, and undo it. If you can't see it, then undoing it will cause more harm. Once won't kill your locks.

If crocheting or any other tool was used, again once won't kill them, but don't do it anymore.

I'm glad your friend isn't helping out anymore. Lock peppa is a scam. Everything from KB and DHHQ is a scam. Almost everything they sell is damaging to dreadlocks.