Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Backcombing Vs. TnR

Blue_Dreamz 420
@blue-dreamz-420
12 years ago
2 posts

This may be a duplicate... i thought i made one but i cant find it lol, so i'm trying again....

I know this site is mainly for people who do their dreads naturally, and i completely respect that and i think you are amazing for having that much patience... that being said my hair is very uncooperative and it would end up a hot mess if i did dreads naturally lol..

I have been doing alot of research on dreads and was actually planning on getting them backcombed (i have white people hair so i was told this was the most effective method to do it). but after doing research on the twisting and ripping method i am completely stumped as to what i want to do and figured i would as for some opinions...

My hair is 20 inches long (just measured it today lol) and i have been growing it for 2 years without any trims or cuts so i have split ends out the ass.. now i know that backcombing is said to damage your hair, but my hair already tries to naturally dread and ive talked to hairstylists who say it will be very easy to dread and lock because of its texture. So i am mainly concearned about how either way will look, i do have to go out in public while my dreads are baby dreads so i would like to be able to look presentable if possible lol..

Also, i know that doing the crochet method is horrible for your hair, but is it possible to fix the dreads once they are dreaded with a crochet hook or is that still damaging?

Thanks!!

updated by @blue-dreamz-420: 01/13/15 09:34:15PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts

croch4et to "fix' them is way more damaging then crochet to start them crochets just bad all the way

umm if it dreads itself already unintended why would u ever consider any other way but bnatural