Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

how to know if the dread process is working

Jacob Doherty
@jacob-doherty
12 years ago
4 posts

I'm a Noob, and as of right now I'm only on day 5 of my natural dreads. I was just curious on ways to know if your hair is dreading? I started the process by washing with Nutrigena non-residue shampoo and also the baking soda conditioner and washed them the same way yesterday on day 4 the same way. I know its a slow and awesome process but I always feel like I'm messing up the process by shampooing or drying them in a way that messes them up. Luckily I haven't continued the habit of combing/running my fingers through my hair...usually the only time I mess with it is taking on and off my beanie and the occasional itch haha besides what I've mentioned above.

updated by @jacob-doherty: 01/13/15 09:32:58PM
margie
@margie
12 years ago
5 posts

I think you're doing fine... You have the best hair for the process with all those curls! Just don't think about it so much. Wash it when it feels dirty to you. Other than that, Just let it do what it's going to do. Some days it will be knotty as heck, then other days it might seem to be coming undone. It just seems to go thru its phases. I used to over think way too much, too. I even almost combed them out! But you have found a great resource in this website. Lots of invaluable information. Oh, and think about doing the baking soda wash/apple cider vinegar rinse. Since I started doing that, I really started making progress. But still, it's all about time :)

Baba Fats
@baba-fats
12 years ago
2,702 posts

Stop using the Nutrigena shampoo. Notnecessaryat all. Just use the BS wash followed by the ACV rinse. With both of these, you don't have to touch your head at all. Just pour, wait, rinse.

How are you drying them?