Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

how to start my dreads

Isaiah Salafia
@isaiah-salafia
12 years ago
3 posts
hey all,so I'm brand new to all this. the website, dreads, everything. my hair is probably almost just about 2-3 inches long. hair to tell since I'm of mixed ethnicity, and I have very curly, nappy hair.so, in short, I guess what I'm trying to ask is: how do I prepare my hair for dreadlocks? and should I go for sectioned/backcombed/waxed dreads, or natural/neglect dreads? how long should my hair be for these, and how long will they probably take to get?thanks in advance!
updated by @isaiah-salafia: 01/13/15 09:30:37PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts

no wax no wax no wax under no circumstances should you ever let wax near your dreads i wouldnt even hug someone who had used wax 210 years ago unless was sure they did all they could to get the wax out (not to offend any innocent wax victims just would treat it like lice .something i dont want in direct contact with my dreads)

natural is by far the best way to go

tho 2-3 inches is kinda short if your hairs pretty nappy it probly wull dread hat short

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
Isaiah Salafia
@isaiah-salafia
12 years ago
3 posts
haha thank you very much. and say I simply allow my hair to keep growing out...what else should I do to promote dreading, and at what point/length will i probably actually begin to notice progress? sorry to be a pain.

soaring eagle said:

no wax no wax no wax under no circumstances should you ever let wax near your dreads i wouldnt even hug someone who had used wax 210 years ago unless was sure they did all they could to get the wax out (not to offend any innocent wax victims just would treat it like lice .something i dont want in direct contact with my dreads)

tho 2-3 inches is kinda short if your hairs pretty nappy it probly wull dread hat short

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts