dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Dread seperation advice

Dan
@dan
12 years ago
4 posts

Hey,

I've been dreading my hair for almost two years now completely neglect, no backcomb crocheting or anything like that. I've only used Dr. Bronner's soap, occasional BS/ACV wash, and soap from dreadlockshampoo.com.

Progress has been quite slow which is fine, but since my hair is very curly my dreads keep dreading into each other. If I don't separate them everyday they become so intertwined that it's almost impossible to separate. All my baby dreads are fairly large by now and I don't want them to congo.

Any advice or separation tips? I also have a lot of loose hair on the outside of my dreads so any tips for that as well would be welcome.I understand that time is the ultimate cure for loose hair but it has been two years and they are still fairly loose and not totally looking like dreads so please help me out if you can.

I put some photos below.

Cheers.

updated by @dan: 02/05/15 10:12:49AM
Alexander Šuma
@alexander-uma
12 years ago
17 posts

Very loose for 2 years.You need some beads..The hair inside the actual bead doesn't seem to dread for me,but the hair above and below does.Then you just move the bead...From the looks of it,you need several beads.Wood beads are cheap,and easy to remove by crushing them if they get stuck.

As far as congoing and avoiding it goes,rip them apart when wet.The hairs break more easily.That's as good as it gets.

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts

wonder why its been slow they look like they should drad great so look at yoir routne see if theres anything that u maybe doing to slow thinfs

seperation pull them apart then slide a finger along the scalp between the dreads tryijg to hook under any connecting hairs and pull up and oiy t but