dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Help with small/thin dreads

Joseph Hazim
@joseph-hazim
12 years ago
4 posts

Hi

I'm new to this sort of stuff butI was wondering what would be the best way of growing small dreadlocks like this? Thanks

updated by @joseph-hazim: 02/05/15 10:12:49AM
Tara C
@tara-c
12 years ago
644 posts

If you wanted to do it completely natural, you could just wait and see how thin your hair sections itself and see if it's what you want, but if not, you could always section it yourself and use twist & rip, but I'm not sure how easy that'd be since the sections would be so thin. That seems like the best option though, I'd say.

PeacewithDreads
@peacewithdreads
12 years ago
14 posts

That's a pretty awesome picture. I have very "thin" hair and my dreads are extremely thin, and I am cultivating them as such because with thin as my hair is, if I had a bigger dread I'd have maybe 2 on my whole head (lol). That being said, you can have a certainl amount of control over it yourself.

It is fairly easy to twist and rip small sections. However, on thin hair, t&R tends to split the ends andthey won't be nice and pretty like this picture is.Thisguys dreads seemvery organized and coiffed. Not sure, but I suspect this is not natural neglect. He probably used wax (advise against it, but your choice - look at the forums on this before going that route though). Spreading Eagle (S.E.)would be a better expert at looking at that picture.