Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Dread Misconceptions

Jess2
@jess2
12 years ago
29 posts

So I've been dreading my hair naturally for almost 4 months now. I simply wash my hair every couple of days with a residue free shampoo and threw away my brush! Since they are sorta starting to look more like actual dreads than ever before people have been noticing and as they do, commenting. Now most of the people I know are pretty cool and think theyre awesome but I find it craaazy how many wrong ideas and opinions are floating around out there...Do you wash your hair?Do you have to do anything to them? Both questions I hear on a regular basis. The answers? Yes I do wash my hair, clean dreads are happy, healthy dreads and no I dont have to do anything to them I simply stopped brushing my hair.

It seems as though the concept that my hair looks like this all from not brushing my hair is the most crazy thing theyve ever heard! A lot of other things I've heard are 'my mate got dreads and he used surfboard wax to get them' (said to me as though they know what theyre talking about) I was like f*ck man are you serious?? thats the most unhealthy thing you could probably do and if you're speaking to him tell him he needs to get rid of that asap! Another one is 'oh my mate has dreads and she has to use a hook to keep them looking nice do you do that?' to which I replied hell no my dreads form the way they want to form and I love every single one of them, the girl you know is actually preventing her hair from dreading, her hair is bound so tight together from the hook that it is very weak and brittle and could potentially fall off'. One more I've heard was a guy I met at the pub who told me his sister has dreads and didn't wash her hair for 6 months!!!!! I mean each to their own but thats a bit smelly in my books and, if anything, just slows down the process as clean hair dreads faster (and smells a lot nicer too lol).