Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Instinct vs tried and true?

Kelsey Cliche!
@kelsey-cliche
12 years ago
122 posts
Hey all! So it's been a whole 2 weeks with my hair in baby dreads. I love them so far, even though they don't resemble much yet. There are definitely knots in them though. A friend of mine has dreads, and she did backcombing. (I did TnR). She's had hers for about a year. Anyway, she's telling me I need to redo all of mine by backcombing them, to wrap them up at night to keep them tight, and pretty much baby them til they mature. I'm a total newbie, but to me that advice seems counterintuitive. I'm good with leaving them alone to let them do what they do, and not be so gentle on them. It seeks like when I sleep on them as is, they get more bed heady and knotty, and are still staying sectioned. What do you experts think?
updated by @kelsey-cliche: 01/13/15 09:17:22PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts

ask her why ppl have dreads thast nevrr backcombed never wrapped em up at night never did a thing

you dont gottas redo em u never had to do em at all

im betting she used wax too?

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
Kelsey Cliche!
@kelsey-cliche
12 years ago
122 posts
Ps, I tried to put this in maintenance but my phone won't let me. :P
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts

moved it for u

--
Kelsey Cliche!
@kelsey-cliche
12 years ago
122 posts
She didn't use wax, so that's good. Her dreads do look really nice, and her method obviously worked for her. I just don't feel like I have to be that delicate with them. I am careful when I wash em but otherwise they just hang out. Is that wrong?

soaring eagle said:

ask her why ppl have dreads thast nevrr backcombed never wrapped em up at night never did a thing

you dont gottas redo em u never had to do em at all

im betting she used wax too?

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts