Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

newbies looking for some answers

Australe
@australe
15 years ago
60 posts
Hi. My husband and I have had some experiences since he first decided that he wanted dreads. I'd like to share them with you and get peoples opinions and advice. Not interested in hearing people slamming this and that.My husband and I are both white, there are a few people that we work with the have dreads but all of them are black. He asked alot of questions and eventually we were led to a lady that could start them, we'll call her Ani for our story. In my ignorance at first I didn't think dreads would be a good idea, "they're dirty and nasty", no they're not or rather they shouldnt be. But I told him that I didn't have a problem with him getting dreads if they were going to be clean. Bare with me on this and be patient, I hope your ready for a book.We woke up that morning and Den, my husband was excited, he was finally getting dreadlocks! Ani had said that she would start them and help him to maintain them, to start them would cost $65. When we got there we walked into this rinky-dink, hole-in-the-wall shop. Ani washed his hair twice and them gooped this deep conditioner stuff on his hair and put him under the dryer for 15 minutes, them she rinsed his hair and we went into her room where she proceeded to section his hair, which she did a very nice job of by the way. After she was done sectioning she pulls out this spray consisting of tea tree oil and a variety of other things, also a large tub of gel. She continues onto starting his dreads by taking a section and splitting it into two parts and twisting the sections together while twisting them each in turn, if that explaination makes sense. She was working the gel into his hair while she did this. When she was done he had 52 little cords of rope. Back under the dryer for probly 30 minutes and we were on our way home with instructions on how to take care of them and the pr