dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

I'm a Newbie - Need Help

Dee2
@dee2
13 years ago
25 posts

Hi all.

I just came across this site today. I had my dreads crocheted a month ago and in looking through dread maintenance I stumbled upon this site which has brought a billion questions. So I'm hoping you all knowledgeable people can answer my questions if possible.

It's been a month. I wash once a week, my scalp is flaking. I have really dark hair and it looks bad, but I put with it. Will that ever go away? the flaking?

My hair is really curly, so I get a frizz cloud after washing my hair, if you guys say crocheting is bad, what can I do to tame it? It's really really bad, and I see people's photos of them complaining about their frizz, but mine is 100% worse. I haven't done any wax or anything sticky...just crocheting. Any help with taming the frizz?

They are skinny too...I thought it was because my hair is not thick, but maybe it's because of the crocheting? Do you guys think they'll eventually get thicker? I'm assuming that maybe since I have so much frizz and loose hairs that they will eventually stick together, but I don't see how without any help? I feel like if I don't do anything, they'll come off and frizz will always be there...floating around my head. Here's a pic so you can see my frizzy cloud...lol

Thanks in advance, looking forward to your advice.

updated by @dee2: 02/14/15 09:04:31AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
13 years ago
29,640 posts

stop crochetting crochet breaks hairs causing loose hairs every dread in the worlds got frizz but the more u try to control it the worse it will be!

also the crochet has made them very thin and stiff thats what crochet does besides tear em to shreds

wash em with baking soda teatree rosemary peppermint and follow it with acv and jojoba this will help the flakes and itches

the jojoba will condition the dreads so they loosen up enough tio dread right