Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Fuzzy looks so unprofessional! How do I fix this?

Katie2
@katie2
13 years ago
40 posts

So, I'm a teacher at a private Christian school...and some there think dreadlocks look unprofessional. I have been pulling them back or to the side with a flower to dress them up, but they get so fuzzy at the roots, and a bunch of hairs start sticking up all over the place! I'm assuming this is normal, but in my attempt to combat it, I began twisting the little hairs in, only to find that I am damaging my dreads even more, and in turn causing more little hairs to pop out!

Any suggestions? I know that dreads are supposed to be no/low maintenance, for this is why I desired them. But I always end up acting on my fears of them never binding on their own, and so I end up twisting. "/ Bad, I know. Suggestions?

Also, all those little hairs just stick out and I want them to integrate, and again, my fear tells me that they will just grow long and never ever hook up with a dread. Encouragement???

Thanks.

updated by @katie2: 01/13/15 08:59:13PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
13 years ago
29,640 posts

leave em alone di sea salt sprays stop twisting they will either integrateor become new baby dreads but they have to get long enough 1st to do that if u stop twisting they will get long enough to not stick up they will lay in among the dreads giving a softer look and blend in then as they reach the right length they dread..just let em if u need to tame it a lil during the awkward stage of rcoveruing from twisting use a lil aloe vera (pure no other ingredients) like a hair gell to smooth em back and down but dont over use once they are longer stop so they can just dread up

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
Medusa
@medusa
13 years ago
57 posts