dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Neglect Method Newbie -- Baking Soda Wash Questions

Marcus Acosta
@marcus-acosta
13 years ago
53 posts

Hi Everyone!,

My name is Marcus and I posted a couple days ago that I started my neglect journey! My hair is 4 inches and shown in my profile picture. I have a question about the baking soda wash. I've been washing my hair since October 2010 with strictly baking soda and water every 3 days in preparation for dreadlocks while I let my hair grow. I mix 2 tablespoons of baking soda with a cup of hot shower water every time I wash my hair (which has been every 3 days since October 2010.) My hair has not started dreading yet obviously since it has only been one week of neglect. Now that I started the neglect method a couple days ago I have a couple questions:

1). When do I start adding essential oils?

2). How willadding essential oilsaffect my hair since it has not begunlocking yet?

3). If Ican startadding essential oils now, which ones should I add?

4). Do I add the oils to the baking soda wash or the apple cider vinegar rinse?(Leads into question 5)

5). Should I start an Apple Cider Vinegar rinse?

6).How will the apple cider vinegar rinse affect my hair since it has not begun locking yet?

7). Should I increase the amount I wash my hair from 3x a week to every other day? Someone on this site with similar hair type told me that aided in the locking process.

I would like to apologize for the amount of questions asked here. I have been trying to find a thread with all this information provided clearly. I formatted my questions in a numbered format because I thought it would make things clearer. One issue I've had with the threads on the site is that many times the responses are filled with misspellings, incomplete sentences, or jargon that I am not used to considering I am new. I just want to make sure I'm doing things properly. Thanks for your time. -Marcus

updated by @marcus-acosta: 02/14/15 11:41:24AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ