Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

The importance of daily hot water rinses

Kathleen1
@kathleen1
14 years ago
28 posts
ok so i really aint a real expert on this. im just using my knowledge of water's effect on the hair and a lil bit of experience (errrrrr 5 day tehehe), so dun b rude or act like a smart ass cuz i know im not an expert.the dreading of hair is due to the cuticles of the hair interlocking with eachother. when water touches the hair, it actually breaks down the hydrogen bonding in hair (making it more permeable especially in African (nappy) hair, and those bonds usually reappear as the hair dries. hot water opens the cuticles of the hair. this is true. now what im thinking now. if one does a daily hot water rinse in the shower, it could possibly help with the dreading process because you are opening the cuticles, allowing movement in the hair (the hot, not burning, water) and when you leave the shower entering the cooler air , the hair would be a lil more closer together, allowing the cuticles to slightly close on each other, making the dread a lil bit faster. that is my hypothesis. oh and dont forget that wonderful gift of shrinkage (yay nappy hair :) )ive done it for a couple of days now, and my hair seems to dread a lil faster because the ends are closing up and rounding up (i started my dreads with braids); it seems like good results to me (just look at my pics). im gonna test out this experiment even further and ill give updates. what do you guys think about this. i would say give it a shot. the science seems to work in your favor. it wouldn't really hurt and there's no permanent damage, as long as you moisturize. it just might work!!!! especially if you have a lot of shrinkage like me :P . feel free to give your thought on the matter. i would love to hear em.
updated by @kathleen1: 02/14/15 05:45:43AM
tatyananashi
@tatyananashi
14 years ago
145 posts