Dreadlocks Forums

Greetings and stuff

Travelerwanted
@travelerwanted
6 years ago
8 posts

Hi there.  Obviously new here.  

sheepish wave

Anyway!  I'm Nick, and this is my first time doing locks (I know at almost 40, as a white woman in an area of the US filled with Amish and other religious types.  Guess who gets all the weird looks about it?)  Mine are still at the 'what the hell is going on' stage with a lot of loose hair mixed in.  Though personally I kinda like the look (though can't wait until they're a little more mature.  I started them with shorter hair hoping it would give me time to get used to the weight of them.

And here I'm just gonna bail before I start rambling (Need to go get some essential oils anyway, ran out of my tea tree and eucalyptus oils.  Working around kiddos I was paranoid about getting lice, now that I work in a brewery... I keep the scents because personally, I love them.  Not big on the florals so I'm always looking for herbs with properties I like that won't make me smell like a flower garden.)

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
6 years ago
29,640 posts

welcome

what part of the country?

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
Travelerwanted
@travelerwanted
6 years ago
8 posts

I'm in Pennsylvania, about 30 minutes from Lancaster County.  Which is pretty tame with the hairstyles.  

Which is a small part of why I'm doing my dreads.  It's an adventurous style and since starting my journey with them I've found I haven't been as shy as I usually am.  They've forced me out of my little bubble, and this isn't a complaint I'm loving the conversations that I've had with people who think it's just a 'dirty' and 'lazy' hair style.  

I'll admit, I've wanted to so these since I was a teen back in the 90's.  So I've been doing a lot of research on what to do and not do with them, before I finally took the plunge.

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
6 years ago
29,640 posts

i'm right near you! phoenixeville pa

asked in the bead thread..your name