Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Dreadlock Maintenance: A Cautionary Tale

Bear Scott
@bear-scott
10 years ago
2 posts

Hello everyone! I don't post on here very often, but I am an admin in the Dreadlocks Natty Dreads Facebook group, and this was the pinned post in there for a long time. We will be changing it soon, but Soaring Eagle asked me to post it here on Dreadlockssite before we unpinned it from the group. I wrote this back in May.

Dreadlock Maintenance: A Cautionary Tale
I have seen a lot of recommendation lately of harmful methods that are done to dreads. The purpose of this group is to support healthy, natural dreads and to discourage the practice of harmful methods. There are plenty of groups on Facebook who support harmful methods of dreadcare, but this is where everyone comes when they realize they are ruining their hair. There are many harmful methods, and while I can name a list a mile long (anything involving crochet hooks, wax, interlocking/root flipping, twisting (as maintenance, twisting is an okay way to start dreads), palm rolling...) but there is actually just one word buzzword you really need to look out for: Maintenance.
Dreads maintain themselves, all one actually needs to do is wash them (clean hair dreads better, in addition to being cleaner and smelling better), and separate them if they wish to prevent congoing. Many people in this group are here and are so avidly against doing maintenance for 1 or 2 reasons: We have been there and done that (in my case), or we have just seen too many other people go down the same road.