Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

How do you deal with peer pressure?

HippieMama
@hippiemama
10 years ago
1 posts

Ok kids, I've been dreading my hair for a few months now. I basically just decided to do it, twisted and ripped in some sections, stopped brushing and started doing a baking soda wash. A-Ok, right?

BUT my dreads sometimes look all funky- they're flat on the top and I have so much hair that part of my head just looks messy and other parts look like baby dreads. It seems like other people (Who have/have had) dreads in the past want to help me FIX them. Really, people can't keep their hands off them, which is fine with me but I'm a little worried that they will mess them up. How do I tell people (who have really lovely looking dreads themselves) that I KNOW crocheting/ back combing/ constant maintenance works for them- but it's not for me?

It's hard because my family (people without dreads) already give me a hard time for the 'messy' look and it's tempting to let someone 'clean them up a bit'. So that maybe my family won't be so stressed out.

updated by @hippiemama: 01/13/15 10:02:35PM
Jesse Parker
@jesse-parker
10 years ago
57 posts

Why are you worried about your family being stressed out about YOUR hair. That seems like their problem, and they need to stop worrying about you. If they worry more about your hair that anything else, they should probably sit back and think about their own lives.

interrstella
@interrstella
10 years ago
41 posts
As a person who has people trying to correct the way I look all the time (I MEAN ALL THE TIME) just let it roll off your back, they have their ways of doing things and looking a certain way and you have yours. Just calmy (with a genuine smile) explain "to each his own" I have my standard of beauty and you have yours. there's no right or wrong.
Jesse Parker
@jesse-parker
10 years ago
57 posts