Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Not sure what to do.

cameron m
@cameron-m
14 years ago
5 posts
to start, i am a complete noob, i've done some research but not as much as i should have. yesterday i went to a salon (actually it was some ladys house) to get dreadlocks and she used a method which seemed like a mix of backcombing and twist and rip. i couldn't really tell because there was no mirror and she just said her method was called "locking with a tool". this process took 3 1/2 to 4 hours and was incredibly painful. this is where i'm a little sketchy. she told me to come back every 6 weeks to get them retightened which costs $60 each time ($80 if they grow an inch) and that i should not shampoo or even get them wet for the first 6 weeks. so i guess my question is, does this sound right? or did i just get myself sucked into a money grabbing scheme? she didn't use any wax or anything, just some hairspray. let me know if you need more details or a picture. thanks for reading.
updated by @cameron-m: 11/14/21 01:30:10AM
Remiss
@remiss
14 years ago
40 posts
Hi and welcome to the forum!if you could just put a picture it will help to answer you...You should not return to the salon every 6 weeks that sound, as you said, like a money grabbing scheme. The new growth will dread on its own.Dreads happens on their own and you don't have to go to a salon to get them... all you need is time.and I don't think you should wait 6 weeks before washing your hair. (I recommend you Dr bronner soap or baking soda.)The good news is that she didn't use any wax!Good luck
Jammin' Jay
@jammin-jay
14 years ago
30 posts