Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Hi, there!

Jaime Morris
@jaime-morris
12 years ago
4 posts

Hi, everyone! My name is Jaime. I'm 20 years old and from the US. I am a huge animal lover. I don't eat meat, trying to go vegan as well. I have three dogs, a parrot, and a rabbit. All rescues except one dog from awhile ago. I'm studying at university to become a veterinarian or possibly a biologist.

Anyway, I've wanted dreadlocks for over a year now, but haven't had the cajones to do it. This past Friday, my friends talked me into it and my friend backcombed my whole head for me. I just counted and I have a total of 52 dreads.

I also had a couple questions...

1. Should I use wax? I've heard so many different opinions on this. Right now I haven't used any product except for natural organic vegetable glycerin (before we started) and sea salt/water.

2. How do I get the ends to lock up with the rest of the dreads? My ends are just not having it... On each dread, it looks pretty good until the end and then there's just strands of hair hanging down. Any tips?

3. I've been using the clockwise rubbing method on my scalp, but the roots aren't very tight... Any tips for this?

4. I washed my hair with Dr. Bronner's liquid lavender soap before we started them and I haven't washed since. Good product or should I use something else?

Thanks, everyone!!! Nice to meet you!

updated by @jaime-morris: 02/14/15 04:46:32AM
Wheelz
@delete
12 years ago
28 posts
  1. Absolutely not! Sea Salt is about the only thing you want. Keep it natural all the way any product you use will just slow the process down.
  2. Again natural! Let your hair do what it wants to do. You want to leave the ends lose because that will help your hair dry quicker and help prevent mildew and stinkiness.
  3. Stop rubbing! Leaving it alone. It'll lock up over time. Rubbing is time consuming and uncomfortable. You'll enjoy your dreads a lot more if you just let them do their thing.