Like this page? Then share it!
Dreadlocks Forums

New dready checking in - have a question

Jenifer J
@jenifer-j
2 years ago
42 posts

Hey everyone!

I'm so happy to have stumbled upon this site with all the good info. Wish I'd come her first. Thanks for the great resource. I'm Jen and I'm a newbie at this - and I have a few questions.

I decided to dread my hair a few days ago, did a little bit of research, though it wasn't entirely thorough. I had a friend section my hair and I did twist and rip (yesterday). Some of my sections are bigger than 1"... more like 2". I have straight thin hair and have ended up with 22 locks. But reading here, I'm starting to worry that some of my sections might be too big. Do I have anything to worry about? I guess I didn't think about how much bigger they might get.

I'm also a little worried that they are too tight... think I did a little less twisting and tighter pulling. they aren't too tight around the roots though, so I think that's good.

so do i have anything to worry about or that i should do while these guys are still fresh to fix any mistakes I've made? I'm pretty sure I want these to mature and have them for a long time to come :) I will also add that I spend a lot of time whitewater kayaking so I'm a little worried about the drying time if i end up with huge dreads. It was always a bitch to brush out my helmet hair afterwards, so I'm really looking forward to not having to do that anymore :)

Thanks for any advice and tips - I appreciate it! I'm heading to the woods for a few days so I might not be able to reply for a few days.

Jen

updated by @jenifer-j: 02/14/15 10:08:02AM
Lauryn Dowding
@lauryn-dowding
2 years ago
49 posts