dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

dread newb, not enough dreads? help please

Amber4
@amber4
12 years ago
4 posts

okay, so im new to dreadlocks.

the first one i did, ive had for about three weeks now. i decided i liked it alot, and as i learned more about them i wanted more. I now have 7 dreadlocks on the underside of my hair. they are all only a few days old, not even a week yet. what is keeping me from doing my whole head(besides my bangs), is that i feel that my hair is too thin or i dont have enough hair.

like i previously said, i have 7 dreadlocks. if i was to do my whole head i would only have about 12 at most. my hair is very thin, and when straightened is just below my shoulder. so i was just wondering, will my dreads always be so sparse? i hear they get thicker with time. also, i dont want them to be too gappy and scalpy. i know this will fix itself overtime, but idk i just feel like i dont have enough hair and they dont look as beautiful as peoples with thick long hair. if anyone could help me i would REALLY appreciate it! i can send you a picture to if necessary. and please, dont tell me that i should be happy with my dreads that they are unique and have character. i love them and im aware of this, i just want them to be full

updated by @amber4: 02/15/15 04:09:12AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts

lets see a picture but i bet u made the sectionms wayyyy tioo hig

thin hair u probly tried making the dreads tgemselves 1 inch? or 1/2 inch how dod u start them? but u probly made 2-3 inxch sections so the resulting drad was 3/4 inch they wull thincken up into gu[igantic dreads

instead what u want with thin fine haire is to allow natural sectioning a few thick..not many and alot more thin the thick give it volume the thin fill in gaos making it seem fuler

u could have 60-70 dreads with 2 or 3 about an inch 20 1/2 inch and 50 1/4 inch