Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

New to dreads, read alot mine look hopeless (To me) and feel down about it.

Yuzanaki
@yuzanaki
8 years ago
3 posts

Hi, I'm new to dreads and just had my done at a salon (Which I'm starting to regret) they did the back comb and twist method it's been two weeks and they feel like they're falling apart, not knotting well and generally feel like they're just twisted hair held with wax, they felt like thin candles until I took a hair dryer and some paper towels to get some of it out. I've been palm rolling every morning after waking up and wearing a dread cap (Loose hat I might add) to keep them clean, but I feel like my early journey has already begun and doomed to fail, I'm just wondering if anyone can shed some light on these, should I continue and ride it out and continue going to the salon, or pull them out? They initially used beeswax but I swapped to knottyboy, I haven't washed them yet when I ask for advise all they tell me is patience and lots of wax, I'm more than happy to be patient but don't want my potential dreads to be ruined so early on. I've attached some pictures, I also have some dreadlock shampoo bar but havent yet used it. I haven't palm rolled them today yet.

I don't know much about dreads and put my faith in the salon which from what I've read seems to of been a bad decision, is my hair expected to be this way after 2 weeks or am I wasting my time? If they're bad are they salvageable? I feel like I should wash them, get some of the wash out leave the roots cause they're kinda knottty and twist and rip the rest of the hair.

image4.JPG.jpg
image4.JPG.jpg  •  1.7MB

image3.JPG.jpg
image3.JPG.jpg  •  2.4MB

image2.JPG.jpg
image2.JPG.jpg  •  1.7MB

image1.JPG.jpg
image1.JPG.jpg  •  1.8MB

updated by @yuzanaki: 02/03/18 03:29:05PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
8 years ago
29,640 posts