Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

dreads and jobs

Heather
@heather
13 years ago
1,291 posts

i think "momma has dreads" is a nurse. she might be the best one to answer your question.

Brittany Rassat said:

I'm going to be going to school to be a registered nurse and was wondering if any one has had an issue getting a job as an RN with dreads?

Hans Miniar Jónsson
@hans-miniar-jnsson
13 years ago
74 posts

I am unemployed pretty much and unemployable pretty much.

I mean, I'm an artist. I have work on walls on three continents, but that's about it.
I have fibromyalgia (an invisible chronic pain and fatigue syndrome) which is aggravated by hypermobility (loose joints all over my body, my scapula are always out of alignment, I pop in and out of joints in my fingers and toes, my back is constantly overworked to the point of agony because the large muscle groups kick in to try and keep from letting spine pop out of alignment and so on) and I also have ADD, Dysthymia and anxiety problems on the mental front.

So yeah... fuck it... I'll do whatever I want to my hair!

SurrealLove
@surreallove
13 years ago
12 posts

I was doing landscaping and was hired with dreads. The small company had two other dreadheads. :) The only other job I had with dreads was at the Safeway Starbucks (3 years ago when I started my first set). I had to wear my hair tied up and a hair net every day. Later I found out when I reapplied that "some people" thought it looked dirty. I've seen checkers at other Safeways with their gorgeous locks exposed for the world to see... But that's a small wealthy retirement community for ya.

But now I'm about to have a baby, so I'll be home with him. In the past, all the other jobs I applied to/ interviewed for while having dreads haven't been successful. I'm still not sure if it was my appearance or qualifications... Perhaps fear of impending judgment of my appearance made my interviews less than what they could have been.