Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Dreadhead discrimination!

Alexandra
@alexandra
12 years ago
16 posts

Has anyone else heard about this? Petition! My mom just sent this in an email today and I couldn't resist telling all fellow dreadheads about this terrible discrimination,regardingjobs, going on at Six Flags. Where's the love and acceptance?

updated by @alexandra: 02/14/15 06:44:20AM
Baba Fats
@baba-fats
12 years ago
2,702 posts

I worked as a cook for 5 years. All you need to do is wear a hair net. You can sue them because wearing locks is actually protected by the first amendment

Alexandra
@alexandra
12 years ago
16 posts

Yes! Exactly! It's astounding they would actually try to get away with that sort of discrimination. Appalling.

Baba Fats
@baba-fats
12 years ago
2,702 posts

If you are growing your locks for spiritual reasons, there is nothing they can do to stop you. Just like they can't stop muslims or Jews from wearing their head-piece.

This is a simpe religious rights issue

Alexandra
@alexandra
12 years ago
16 posts

Precisely. Unfortunately there are people out there who don't care, or are just ignorant of that fact and will try to hold you back. They just don't realize they will be fought against! I came from a small town and all of the back country conservatives had a notion that dreads were basically the axis of evil... too crazy this stuff happens because of ignorance.

Baba Fats
@baba-fats
12 years ago
2,702 posts

I know. In Philly there are just so many people with locks. I don't see many on a day to day basis, but when I go out to parades or other events we're all over the place. It's a cultural thing. But the concept of white people with locks is still looked down on. My whole family thinks I am trying to "look black". And they keep telling me I will have to cut them to get a job. But they forget the fact that I never had to cut them for any other jobs. Why would I have to for the next one?

Alexandra