Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

A new TV series with the intention to dispel the myths and stereotypes around people with dreadlocks

Bear Scott
@bear-scott
10 years ago
2 posts
This idea is great! Soaring Eagle already said what I was thinking about, but to reiterate I would love to see something about te perception of dreads as being tied to one specific race. I have heard from black and white people that dreads are a "black" thing and that for anyone else to have them is appropriating them. It would be cool to have discussion about how dreads are part of many different cultures and ethnicities of all races.I am married and I am a full time college student working on a degree in Anthropology with a minor in folk studies.
updated by @bear-scott: 07/22/15 11:39:58AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
10 years ago
29,639 posts

from an anthropological (cant believe i spelled that right 1st try) perspective theres alot we can do there as well exploring how dreadlocks evolved through many cultures independently and the folk lores surrounding them, like shaekspheres elf/fairy locks to the polish plait that was suposed to bring bad luck if cut or combed out (including the queen that had 1)

and so forth

tho that will take some extensive research

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
10 years ago
29,639 posts

if we could accomplish just 1 thing with this ... id want it to be an end to every dreadhead in the world constantly being approached by people wanting to buy or sell drugs

--
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
10 years ago
29,639 posts

and an end to the assumption that we all like the greatful dead

--
TattiNatti
@tattinatti
10 years ago
22 posts

:)

Amos Jr.
@amos-jr
10 years ago
1 posts
This is going to be great for society because the average person has stereotypes on a person with locks, when it's usually nothing more than their hairstyle preference.
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle