Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Baking Soda and Sea Salt ratios

Baker Street
@baker-street
12 years ago
11 posts

Spraying with sea salt? Washing with baking soda? How do I make these solutions??? Well I am a pharmacy tech and I can tell you whats up for wonderful clean and tight dreads.

Na HCO3 Sodium Bicarbonate or Baking Soda is naturally occurring in nature and is found in the oceans and our blood and is used often in medicine and the ER to correct life threatening situations. As a matter of fact there is a specific solution or ratio of water to baking soda that should be used when washing the hair based on the biology of the body and it's PH. After all your hair is living and part of your body! This solution will clean your hair, wash out residues from from previous shampoos after a couple of uses, help baby dreads from, help with hard water, and clean and balance your scalp and is suitable for all hair types.

In metric you would use 1 litre of water to 84 grams of baking soda. In English that is about 1/2 cup of baking soda to 5 cups of water.

Directions: Mix warm water and baking soda (double the amount of each for more hair!) together in a suitable container. Pour some over the hair, get into the scalp and massage it in, repeat until finished. Wrap your hair in a towel for 10-20 mins, then rinse thoroughly with warm water and a cold rinse. Follow this once or twice weekly, or if you are new to dreading your scalp will be going through some changes, and itching will be the result. Use the itching as a guide to rinse your hair (as part of your bathing routine) with plain warm water or the baking soda wash.