Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Dry locks

Joey5
@joey5
11 years ago
83 posts

My locks are extreeeemly dry. Mostly from the use of BS without ACV for many months. They locked up good and are really tight and mature (1 year) but they are very coarse and brittle. So much that they have lost color and some are almost whitish blond (mostly where the sun hits them). What can i do to rehydrate or condition my locks without loosening them or leaving residue. I use dreadlockshampoo bartwice a week and bs/acv once a week. i just want them soft again an dont want breakage.

updated by @joey5: 01/13/15 09:52:42PM
Tim5
@tim5
11 years ago
359 posts

If it was me, I would just use the bar for a while and see if that helps. a little bit of oil wont undo your dreads. When you condition though, you could get some hair come out, just the new short hair though. It will dread easily when it is long enough though. You could use aloe, or coconut oil, I am no expert on conditioning oils, some one else will chime in.

peace

Brianna Elizabeth
@brianna-elizabeth
11 years ago
19 posts
There so dry because you are not using the ACV to balance your haira natural PH balance its getting stripped. But any long term use of BS will pull out color in your hair over time, try a dread shampoo bar and do BS with ACV a few times a month
the Barrellady
@the-barrellady
11 years ago
1,302 posts

Hi Joey, I also did the mistake of not using ACV with every wash in my beginning months, and also dried out/fried out my hair. This is what I did and it took about 3 months to reverse the damage, now my hair is soft again, back to pre-dread days.