Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Just starting out. Steer me in the right direction

Joshua Bott
@joshua-bott
11 years ago
3 posts
I'm just starting out this natural journey and am welcoming any advice. My hair is only 3-4 inches long. I got off the shampoo about 5 days ago which was how this started. I eat all natural whole foods and take rather good care of myself. I figured to start getting the rest of me all natural too. I just want some all natural happy dreads. If it takes time that's cool with me. Any help though is appreciated. I am worried my hair is too short to even start this. And is there anything else I should do? I have rinsed my hair in water every day. No other wash at all and it's not greasy at all. Is that too much water? Just air drying it. Thanks everyone for the help in advance.
updated by @joshua-bott: 01/13/15 09:52:17PM
DreadfulAmenita
@taby
11 years ago
80 posts

Hi, and welcome! I'm about 7 months in. I started with about shoulder-length hair, and I did tnr. I think you can start dreads at any length just by not brushing or conditioning. I think if you check a lot of blogs and forums, etc, most people use some sort of shampoo method. It doesn't slow the process, nor does water. Just stay away from conditioner. Personally, I wash my hair about twice a week, using Dr. Bronner's soap or baking soda/apple cider vinegar. I like to rinse with cold water and a few drops of rosemary oil, because it seems to help with itchy/dry scalp. You'll find tons of info on this site and advice. The most advice you'll see is don't do too much. No crocheting, wax, etc, but it sounds like you're going the natural route anyways. Good luck! I can say, for me, it's been a very fun process.

the Barrellady
@the-barrellady
11 years ago
1,302 posts

Taby, I hope you don't mix the apple cider vinegar into the baking soda, that is a chemical reaction. The BS should be your wash & the ACV is the rinse.....Peace

Taby said: