Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

HELP! How many dreads should I have toget the "best dreads"?

Brianna Clement
@brianna-clement
11 years ago
2 posts
This is my second time around dreading, but its my first time doing them on myself, by myself. The first time I had two boys do them, I had 20 something and they ended out becoming 33. I had those babies for about a year and 3 months. I have 3 remaining dreads from that time still with me. So they will be 2 years on July 7th . I had to get rid of my dreads because of school issues. But now Im like eff them Im getting my babies back.
Now redreading my hair I have about 68 but Ive combined them into about 45. I have started my bottom rows on March 17 2013 with some maintenance and adding a couple more dreads throughout March 21 then took a break, and the top rows of my head are more recent, and started again with just on random days finishing up from the 30th of March to today, April 3.
So here is my issue. Im SOOOOOO flip floppy. I just want the perfect dreads, that also, I can put extensions into (as because when I combed them out last time I lost a lot of length). Like I kind want to combine 10 more into 5, but my problems is, I think that if I combine more itll be too thick, but I feel theyre too thick now with the 11 combined dreads. Buuuuut, I dont want supper thin dreads either. Like have you ever seen the pictures of those beautiful medium in thickness and long in length beautiful dreads? Like those perfect dreadlock pictures we see? I want that.
Soooo. If anyone could help me out, I don't know if I should leave the combined ones or take them out? I dont want super thin ones but Im scared with the combined might be too thick while with them not being combined they are too thin. Should I stay at 45? Go to 40? Or go back to 68? ORRR. Is there any other number out there that you think would be perfect? /: HELPPPPP.

updated by @brianna-clement: 02/14/15 03:29:42AM
matt krantzberg