Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Need help!!!!

Laura Baffa
@laura-baffa
12 years ago
2 posts
Hi! I have been dreading for 1 1/2 months and I started with the crochet method not knowing it would damage my hair. I keep having to touch it up at least once a week because they become so loose. I want to stop crocheting but am not sure to continue to have them neat and orderly. Why products should I use? Salt water? How can I tighten them? Should I use wax? Sorry for all the questions but thanks!! :)
updated by @laura-baffa: 01/13/15 09:42:09PM
Theodora Martino
@theodora-martino
12 years ago
22 posts

No Wax. Wax is never the answer. Salt water is fine, just make sure to wash it out afterwards

Thats all i know for sure :)

Mons
@mons
12 years ago
518 posts
No wax, ever. If you want to quit crocheting (it's best if you do) you're going to have a mess for a while. All those promenade hairs are going to start poking out and getting frizzy. It's just how it is. There is no way to get them all neat and orderly, until they are fully mature. Even then they may not be.The very best products to use are none. Well, I good shampoo (dreadlockshampoo.com) and that's it. Then embrace the frizzy mess and let your hair recover from the damage done by the crocheting.
Mons
@mons
12 years ago
518 posts
Oh wow, um not 'promenade' lol that's crocheted!
Doogie
@doogie
12 years ago
321 posts

No, DON'T EVER use wax! EVER! And STOP crocheting! They need time to recover! The best thing you can do for dreads is just keep them clean and seperate on occation! That's all you need to do! Time and paitence are virtues when it comes to dreads! You will always have loose hairs from new growth. Just leave them alone!

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts