Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

what do I do with the ends & why wont they stay tight to my scalp?

shana dyke4life
@shana-dyke4life
12 years ago
5 posts

Hi guys so I just started my dreadsyesterday& Irealizedthat they are not staying tight to my scalp! Like a inch or so of hair that is the start, then my dread begins. I will post a pic to show you what I mean. Is it normal or am I doing it wrong? Like I have said I have never done this before & beside's the TON of research I have done I am just going by what I am learning. I am doing the "Twist & Rip"
method.... Also I am not sure of what to do with the ends. Do I just leave them alone. I am so sorry I have asked alot of question's but I am aperfectionist& I want to make sure I am doing it right.... Thanks in advance!!!! Peace <3 & Natty-Ness!!!!!!

updated by @shana-dyke4life: 02/14/15 06:24:20AM
Mons
@mons
12 years ago
518 posts
You want loose roots, you'll always have loose roots. They allow the sections to move around, tangling and knotting up. New dreads usually have 1-3 inches of loose hair. Mature usually about an inch. Don't do anything to tighten them up, just let them be loose.Wispy unknotted ends are wonderful. They allow water to drain easier from the hair, shortening drying time. You want that. Blunted ends hold the water in, keeping them wet inside for way too long, promoting an environment for mold mildew and funk. You don't want that at all.Since you did TnR, it's important that you know it's highly likely they will fall out. TnR is mainly a blueprint for sections, not creating actual dreads. It's ok that they fall out. Over the next several months they are going to loosen, tighten, knot, unknot, kink, loop, zigzag, frizz and shrink like crazy. It's all totally normal and to be expected.Congratutions on starting your journey!!
Kelly3
@kelly3
12 years ago
333 posts

Spot on, Mons.