Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Interlocked my dreads

Rasmus Patomella
@rasmus-patomella
12 years ago
3 posts

Yes im stupid and should have done some research, the lady at the salon interlocked my hair and now that i read online that my dreads will fall out im really worried .. I'm young, 15, so re-doing them wouldnt be an option we payed alot and my parents wouldnt be too happy :| If i just let them be can they still turn out nice ? this is my first time also. I'm swedish and i have straight hair

updated by @rasmus-patomella: 01/13/15 09:35:44PM
Baba Fats
@baba-fats
12 years ago
2,702 posts

#1: How long ago were they interlocked? If recently (the past day or 2), and you can find where it was done and undo it, go ahead. If you can't find where it was done easily, don't. You'll do more harm trying to undo what was done. I interlocked 1 or 2 back in the day, and it doesn't kill your locks. It does weaken them a bit, but once won't make them fall out.

#2: What else was done when you started? If you paid money, they probably used wax or other products. Or even crocheted. If any wax was used, you need to get it out, right away. There's a great wax remover from dreadlockshampoo.com. Or Dawn dish soap will work fine. One session isn't enough. There's a great detailed description on how to get wax out in the dreaducation page.

#3: How much did you pay? Just out of curiosity. People have paid tens of thousands over the years for waxy locks that never locked up.

Rasmus Patomella
@rasmus-patomella
12 years ago
3 posts

#1: Well i know where it was, it's far away from where i live though because most places are 20~ hours away.

#2: She did use some wax, not alot though. She recommended the knotty boy wax.

#3: about 500$

How will weak locks affect their appearance ?

Also does this mean my locks can/will turn out nicely ?

Baba Fats
@baba-fats
12 years ago
2,702 posts

Well, you need to get the wax out. First things first.